How Do I Delete Photos from Facebook, Twitter, and Google+?

delete key

We’ve all posted a photo online that we’ve later thought better of. But it’s too late to get it off the Internet, right? Nope. All major social media sites offer simple, speedy way to remove embarrassing photos from your social media accounts. Here’s how, site by site and step by step.

Facebook

It’s important to note that Facebook will let you “hide” photos so that only you can see them, but that isn’t the same as deleting them. To remove the photo from the actual site, follow these steps.

  1. Click on “Photos” on the left-hand side of Facebook. This will take you to a page of photos of yourself, photos you’ve posted, and albums. Click on “Photos” near the top of the page.
  2. Facebook will take you to a collection of all photos you’ve posted, as a collection of smaller images called “thumbnails” that allow you to easily identify which photo is which. Find the photo you want to remove by scrolling through until you spot it.
  3. Hover your mouse cursor over the thumbnail. A pencil icon will appear in the upper right hand corner of the thumbnail. Click on it and it will open a menu. Select Delete This Photo.” You’ll be asked to confirm that you wanted to remove this image. Click Confirm and it’s gone.

Twitter

Keep in mind that if you use a photo-sharing service such as Instagram on Twitter, the image will not be deleted from the Internet. You’re essentially just deleting a link to it. You’ll have to go to that photo-sharing service to remove the photo itself. However, removing a picture from Twitter is simple.

  1. Find the tweet with the photo link you want to remove.
  2. Hover your cursor over it, and at the bottom of the tweet, a line of options will appear. Select “Delete.”
  3. Confirm you want to delete the tweet and you’re done.


Erasing digitally is often as easy as using this.

Google +

Google + is really the simplest of all social networks to remove content from, but you may have to click away from the Photos tab and back to see the results.

  1. Click on “Photos” on the left side of the window towards the bottom.
  2. Find the photo you want to remove by scrolling through or searching by album title or date.
  3. Click on the photo, opening it up, and click on the trashcan in the upper left hand corner of the window. You’ll be asked if you want to remove the photo; click “Yes” and you’re done.

A Word Of Warning

Removing photos from social networks is generally a good way to remove them from search results, but it’s possible others have downloaded the photos and may re-post them or otherwise share them. You may have limited options if photos you’ve removed have appeared online.

Has your personal information been exposed online?Remove my information

If you’re worried about photos compromising your reputation, contact ReputationDefender. We’ll teach you how to evaluate what photos to post online when it comes to yourself and your family, and how to manage social media and the Internet while keeping your best face forward. Keep the Internet a safe place for your reputation. Call ReputationDefender today.

Contact us for a free consultation

ReputationDefender® consultations are:

  • Free and without obligation
  • Discreet and confidential
  • Conducted by a reputation management expert
  • Tailored to your specific case

For immediate assistance, call: 877-492-5209 877-492-5209

 

Fill out the form and we will get back to you within one business day.